Render to Texture and Backbuffer in single pass

• ShoterXX
  • Topic Author
More
8 years 1 week ago - 8 years 1 week ago #1 by ShoterXX Render to Texture and Backbuffer in single pass was created by ShoterXX
I was reading this: github.com/crosire/reshade-shaders/blob/master/REFERENCE.md

Is it possible? I know I supposedly can't read and write to the same texture at the same time, but I was looking at the function parameter qualifiers, it looked like "inout" could allow me to get the buffer, change it, then send it straight back. If so, I can pretty much shorten my whole shader (without defines, textures and all that stuff, ofc) to 2 lines. I've tried it, but not sure if I'm doing something wrong.

And before anyone asks, I'm a rookie as far as graphical stuff goes.

Edit: Ok, I went sideways on my question, so let me clarify it. Can I write to a texture and to the back buffer in the same pass? And how? And how do I use that "inout" parameter properly?
Last edit: 8 years 1 week ago by ShoterXX.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• kingeric1992
More
8 years 1 week ago - 8 years 1 week ago #2 by kingeric1992 Replied by kingeric1992 on topic Render to Texture and Backbuffer in single pass
For a shader, you don't have the "in" , the color in the texture before even sampling in the shader, for the argument "inout".
And reshade doesn't take "in" for the shader besides Semantics.

The alternative is to use it in function then load it to shader.

As shown in the reference, you can still have your 2-lines shader with some arrangement.

reference wrote: // The following pixel shader simply returns the color of the games output again without modifying it (via the "color" output parameter):

void ExamplePS0(float4 pos : SV_Position, float2 texcoord : TEXCOORD0, out float4 color : SV_Target)
{
    color = tex2D(samplerColor, texcoord);
}
To have multiple output texture, you can specify multiple render target, the implement detail is in the reference.