MXAO port to GeDoSaTo

• unic0rn
  • Topic Author
More
5 years 5 months ago - 5 years 5 months ago #1 by unic0rn qUINT was created by unic0rn
i wanted to ask, what license is MXAO 1.5.7r under?

no commercial use in mind whatsoever, i'm just working on porting it to gedosato (since it has much better compatibility regarding the depth buffer with older, dx9 games) and i was wondering if you're ok with me throwing it out in the wild. started with 1.5.7r because while i'm a programmer, i'm kinda new to shaders, and that version isn't as glued to reshade as the latest one (i may be wrong on that though, just took a quick look to compare).

you wouldn't happen to have a dx9 version of MXAO somewhere around, would you? i'm doing this with the witcher 1 in mind, but many more games can benefit from it, from mass effect trilogy to the original skyrim, which some prefer to this day.
Last edit: 5 years 5 months ago by unic0rn.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Marty McFly
More
5 years 5 months ago - 5 years 5 months ago #2 by Marty McFly Replied by Marty McFly on topic qUINT
In theory im against any ports to third party content but GeDoSaTo is fine. The newest MXAO is just larger and not more glued to ReShade, only the controls need to be mapped. And also in every way superior to 1.5.7r so it'd be a bad choice to use that one.

Since GeDoSaTo's AO appears to be mediocre, wouldn't it be a good idea to port MXAO to it officially? If you could get me in touch with its developer (he has been around here in the early ReShade days but not anymore) I'd be happy to help.

Most of MXAO's performance comes from stuff that I'm not sure GeDoSaTo supports out of the box.
Last edit: 5 years 5 months ago by Marty McFly.

• unic0rn
  • Topic Author
More
5 years 5 months ago - 5 years 5 months ago #3 by unic0rn Replied by unic0rn on topic qUINT