Porting shaders okay?

• Swartz27
  • Topic Author
More
8 years 4 months ago #1 by Swartz27 Porting shaders okay? was created by Swartz27
Hello,

To all involved in Reshade: you've done an awesome job! Thank you! :)

I was wondering, is it okay to port these shaders outside of Reshade into a mod I'm leading for Stalker: Call of Pripyat? The mod is called Radium, and we have the source code to the game so adding new shaders to any DX mode is not problematic like it is with the base game.

Of course any shaders used we would give full credit to the authors involved.

We're looking to modernize the graphics of the engine as we are modernizing the engine in general (soon it should have true multi-threading and be 64-bit).

I was also wondering...would any of you be interested in joining the Radium team and porting/coding your shaders yourself? The thing is I'm a novice both at C++ and rendering in HLSL, but I learn pretty fast and have already made lots of changes.

Basically, here are the rendering features we're interested in (some in Reshade already, some aren't):
1) Physically based rendering (modifying the reflective bump map shader further perhaps?)
2) SSGI (had already ported someone else's SSDO but it looks like ass in Stalker, so SSGI would be better)
3) A higher quality DOF effect than what is currently in Stalker. Must be able to modify it for zoom and reload DOF.
4) Reflective surfaces during rain (might be done, still need to test it)
5) Light propagation volumes or some other GI solution
6) Lense dirt/flares

And in terms of things I *might* need from others, that's about it. Though if someone was really motivated to make quality rendering we wouldn't stop you: the sky is the limit.

Anyway, just something to think about.

If nothing else is there:
A) A program out there for converting shaders from SM_3_0 to SM_5_0?
B ) Is there any equivalent to tex2dproj in DX11? A google search didn't help :(