[Request] Is it possible to "fake" mipmapping?

• Wakey
  • Topic Author
More
6 years 9 months ago - 6 years 9 months ago #1 by Wakey [Request] Is it possible to "fake" mipmapping? was created by Wakey
Hi there :)

Yes, my question in the title might seem a bit odd, let me explain:
I am currently working on a texture mod for the recent Nightdive remaster of Turok 2. The problem is, the Kex-Engine has no mip-mapping functionality (i think that might be because of all the screenspace effects).
Now the highres textures i created tend to alias and flicker as hell with increasing distance - it's quite eye cancer inducing.

So, would it be technically possible to write a shader which does a similar thing to mip-mapping to milden the flickering?
Depth buffer access is given (DoF works for example).
Please forgive me that n00b question, i am quite new to the world of reshade :)

Thanks in advance,
Wakey
Last edit: 6 years 9 months ago by Wakey.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• crosire
More
6 years 9 months ago #2 by crosire Replied by crosire on topic [Request] Is it possible to "fake" mipmapping?
No. That's not something you can do in screenspace. What may help is to use a sharpen or blurring filter to make it less visible.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Wakey

• Wakey
  • Topic Author
More
6 years 9 months ago #3 by Wakey Replied by Wakey on topic [Request] Is it possible to "fake" mipmapping?
Thanks for the fast response :)

Just as i thought, a bummer. I tried out both blur and sharpening filters and either makes the flickering worse. The aliasing is so severe, that even with a strong gaussian blur, you get a flickering blur :-/
The only solution is downsampling, but that is quite performance intensive for now.

• FierySwordswoman
More
6 years 9 months ago #4 by FierySwordswoman Replied by FierySwordswoman on topic [Request] Is it possible to "fake" mipmapping?