Welcome, Guest.
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: [SOLVED] Can't get Reshade hooked with Cliffs of Dover..

Can't get Reshade hooked with Cliffs of Dover.. 2 years 1 month ago #1

Hi,

I tried hooking up ReShade with Ubisoft's IL2 Cliffs of Dover - specifically Team Fusion Mod. I can get sweetfx hooked up just fine ever since the first version. The Game is D3D10.1, I copied the 32bit and then the 64bit dll. I'm not sure if the game is 32 or 64bit, but the early sweetfx versions that were 32 bit only( afaik) were hooking up fine.

I rename to dxgi.dll

With reshade, the 32 Bit crashes, here is the log:
28/03/2015 23:48:44:988 [06824] | INFO  | Initializing Crosire's ReShade version '0.16.0.786' built on '2015-03-19 21:42:59' loaded from "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\IL-2 Sturmovik Cliffs of Dover\dxgi.dll" to "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\IL-2 Sturmovik Cliffs of Dover\Launcher.exe" ...
28/03/2015 23:48:45:000 [06824] | INFO  | Registering hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\d3d8.dll" ...
28/03/2015 23:48:45:001 [06824] | INFO  | > Delayed.
28/03/2015 23:48:45:001 [06824] | INFO  | Registering hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\d3d9.dll" ...
28/03/2015 23:48:45:001 [06824] | INFO  | > Libraries loaded.
28/03/2015 23:48:45:001 [06824] | INFO  | > Found 9 match(es). Installing ...
28/03/2015 23:48:45:055 [06824] | INFO  | > Installed 9 hook(s).
28/03/2015 23:48:45:055 [06824] | INFO  | Registering hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\d3d10.dll" ...
28/03/2015 23:48:45:056 [06824] | INFO  | > Delayed.
28/03/2015 23:48:45:056 [06824] | INFO  | Registering hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\d3d10_1.dll" ...
28/03/2015 23:48:45:056 [06824] | INFO  | > Delayed.
28/03/2015 23:48:45:056 [06824] | INFO  | Registering hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\d3d11.dll" ...
28/03/2015 23:48:45:056 [06824] | INFO  | > Delayed.
28/03/2015 23:48:45:056 [06824] | INFO  | Registering hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\dxgi.dll" ...
28/03/2015 23:48:45:056 [06824] | INFO  | > Delayed.
28/03/2015 23:48:45:056 [06824] | INFO  | Registering hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\opengl32.dll" ...
28/03/2015 23:48:45:056 [06824] | INFO  | > Delayed.
28/03/2015 23:48:45:057 [06824] | INFO  | Registering hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\user32.dll" ...
28/03/2015 23:48:45:057 [06824] | INFO  | > Libraries loaded.
28/03/2015 23:48:45:067 [06824] | INFO  | > Found 4 match(es). Installing ...
28/03/2015 23:48:45:088 [06824] | INFO  | > Installed 4 hook(s).
28/03/2015 23:48:45:088 [06824] | INFO  | Registering hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\ws2_32.dll" ...
28/03/2015 23:48:45:089 [06824] | INFO  | > Libraries loaded.
28/03/2015 23:48:45:091 [06824] | INFO  | > Found 8 match(es). Installing ...
28/03/2015 23:48:45:137 [06824] | INFO  | > Installed 8 hook(s).
28/03/2015 23:48:45:137 [06824] | INFO  | Initialized.
28/03/2015 23:48:45:137 [06824] | INFO  | Redirecting 'CreateDXGIFactory({7B7166EC-21C7-44AE-B21A-C9AE321AE369}, 003CE87C)' ...
28/03/2015 23:48:45:139 [06824] | INFO  | Installing delayed hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\dxgi.dll" ...
28/03/2015 23:48:45:139 [06824] | INFO  | > Found 2 match(es). Installing ...
28/03/2015 23:48:45:139 [06824] | INFO  | > Installed 2 hook(s).
28/03/2015 23:48:45:172 [06824] | INFO  | Installing delayed hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\d3d10.dll" (Just loaded via 'LoadLibraryA("d3d10.dll")') ...
28/03/2015 23:48:45:172 [06824] | INFO  | > Found 2 match(es). Installing ...
28/03/2015 23:48:45:183 [06824] | INFO  | > Installed 2 hook(s).
28/03/2015 23:48:45:184 [06824] | INFO  | Redirecting 'D3D10CreateDeviceAndSwapChain(141206F0, 0, 00000000, 0, 29, 08DF6D68, 08DF6DBC, 08DF6D48)' ...
28/03/2015 23:48:45:184 [06824] | WARN  | > 'D3D10CreateDeviceAndSwapChain' failed with '0x80004001'!
28/03/2015 23:48:45:184 [06824] | INFO  | Redirecting 'D3D10CreateDeviceAndSwapChain(141206F0, 1, 00000000, 0, 29, 08DF6D68, 08DF6DBC, 08DF6D48)' ...
28/03/2015 23:48:45:184 [06824] | WARN  | > 'D3D10CreateDeviceAndSwapChain' failed with 'E_INVALIDARG'!
28/03/2015 23:48:47:330 [06824] | INFO  | Redirecting 'CreateDXGIFactory({7B7166EC-21C7-44AE-B21A-C9AE321AE369}, 003CE7B4)' ...
28/03/2015 23:48:47:389 [06824] | INFO  | Redirecting 'D3D10CreateDeviceAndSwapChain(147EF998, 0, 00000000, 0, 29, 08DF6D68, 08DF6DBC, 08DF6D48)' ...
28/03/2015 23:48:47:389 [06824] | WARN  | > 'D3D10CreateDeviceAndSwapChain' failed with '0x80004001'!
28/03/2015 23:48:47:389 [06824] | INFO  | Redirecting 'D3D10CreateDeviceAndSwapChain(147EF998, 1, 00000000, 0, 29, 08DF6D68, 08DF6DBC, 08DF6D48)' ...
28/03/2015 23:48:47:389 [06824] | WARN  | > 'D3D10CreateDeviceAndSwapChain' failed with 'E_INVALIDARG'!
28/03/2015 23:48:47:481 [06824] | INFO  | Redirecting 'CreateDXGIFactory({7B7166EC-21C7-44AE-B21A-C9AE321AE369}, 003CE6EC)' ...
28/03/2015 23:48:47:510 [06824] | INFO  | Redirecting 'D3D10CreateDeviceAndSwapChain(147F9770, 0, 00000000, 0, 29, 08DF6D68, 08DF6DBC, 08DF6D48)' ...
28/03/2015 23:48:47:510 [06824] | WARN  | > 'D3D10CreateDeviceAndSwapChain' failed with '0x80004001'!
28/03/2015 23:48:47:510 [06824] | INFO  | Redirecting 'D3D10CreateDeviceAndSwapChain(147F9770, 1, 00000000, 0, 29, 08DF6D68, 08DF6DBC, 08DF6D48)' ...
28/03/2015 23:48:47:510 [06824] | WARN  | > 'D3D10CreateDeviceAndSwapChain' failed with 'E_INVALIDARG'!
28/03/2015 23:48:47:624 [06824] | INFO  | Exiting ...
28/03/2015 23:48:47:624 [06824] | INFO  | Uninstalling 28 hook(s) ...
28/03/2015 23:48:47:747 [06824] | INFO  | Exited.

And the 64bit seems to be ignored by the game. I hooked up Reshade to other games and I can usually see when it initializes, but not with Cliffs. Also no log is generated with 64bit. For the purpose of my tests I wasn't running any additional programs that could temper with D3D.

Also, is there any way to force triple buffering with reshade? I would like to use d3doverrider with sweetfx - which isn't possible and I read somewhere reshade should support triple buffering.

Many thanks!

Badger
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Can't get Reshade hooked with Cliffs of Dover.. 2 years 1 month ago #2

  • crosire
  • crosire's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Posts: 2650
  • Thank you received: 1520
I'm eager to see a tracelog, for why the Direct3D runtime fails.
Cheers, crosire =)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Can't get Reshade hooked with Cliffs of Dover.. 2 years 1 month ago #3

Hi crosire,

sorry for not including it before, hope this helps? It only initializes as 32 bit dxgi.dll no other combinations even "try" to hook as no log is produced...

thanks for your help

dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/14123055/dxgi.tracelog
Last Edit: 2 years 1 month ago by hnbdgr.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Can't get Reshade hooked with Cliffs of Dover.. 2 years 1 month ago #4

  • crosire
  • crosire's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Posts: 2650
  • Thank you received: 1520
Have you tried reinstalling the DirectX runtimes?
Cheers, crosire =)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Can't get Reshade hooked with Cliffs of Dover.. 2 years 1 month ago #5

Well I have reinstalled the runtimes several times in the past, last time perhaps a week ago. Any particular "special" way to do it or version I should go for?

Sweetfx by its own hooks up correctly, D3D overrider on its own hooks up correctly as well. Of course I didn't have them running/integrated when trying to hook up Reshade. For what it's worth, Reshade seems to work in other games, just not this one.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Can't get Reshade hooked with Cliffs of Dover.. 2 years 1 month ago #6

  • crosire
  • crosire's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Posts: 2650
  • Thank you received: 1520
I'm just suprised seeing the D3D runtime fail on device creation, since ReShade does not alter the parameters there at all, it just passes the values from the game right through. Could you test with another D3D10 app? The official SMAA demo is D3D10 in case you can't find any.
InjectSMAA doesn't hook D3D10, only DXGI, so that would explain why those work. I guess those other games
Cheers, crosire =)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Can't get Reshade hooked with Cliffs of Dover.. 2 years 1 month ago #7

Ok I tested it on the SMAA demo and it doesn't work with Reshade! 32bit crashes, 64bit doesn't do anything. 32 gives this error: Could not find any compatible Direct3D devices.

tracelog: dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/14123055/dxgi%20%282%29.tracelog

googled that error, got a few hits:

answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/foru...11-8dfc-68b599b31bf5

superuser.com/questions/503645/direct3d-...-fine-in-64-bit-mode

I have the same problem as OP on superuser, there is no reg key to change. I tried running directx jun 2010 redist, didn't help.... But on the other hand I can run dxdiag just fine.

dxdiag 32: dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/14123055/DxDiag32.txt
dxdiag64: dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/14123055/DxDiag64.txt
Last Edit: 2 years 1 month ago by hnbdgr.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Can't get Reshade hooked with Cliffs of Dover.. 2 years 1 month ago #8

  • crosire
  • crosire's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Posts: 2650
  • Thank you received: 1520
hnbdgr wrote:
32 gives this error: Could not find any compatible Direct3D devices.
So that does not happen without ReShade, right? Really strange. Could you check if it crashes with this DLL too? It's a hook-only version of ReShade, does no rendering, effect loading or anything. Also, you could try to completly uninstall and then reinstall NVIDIA driver, if that's ok with you.
Cheers, crosire =)
Last Edit: 2 years 1 month ago by crosire.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Can't get Reshade hooked with Cliffs of Dover.. 2 years 1 month ago #9

Yes the demo works fine by itself. I just tried the new dxgi.dll but give the same error. I will do a clean nvidia driver reinstall now.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Can't get Reshade hooked with Cliffs of Dover.. 2 years 1 month ago #10

Reinstalled drivers to latest ones, with DDU... still the same error. Well I'm not sure what to do.... :(
* DDU - Diplay Driver Uninstaller

small update:

- DDU is detecting remnants of AirDisplay from AVATRON as a GPU which was uninstalled a long time ago. not sure why its drivers were still loaded, I had to manually purge it from system32 and registry. DDU still detects it, though I'm sure no drivers are running:

GPU # 0003 Detected : Air Display (Microsoft Corporation - WDDM v1.1)
GPU DeviceId : pci\ven_1337&dev_beef
Vbios : Air Display
Detected Driver(s) Version(s) : 2.0.3.440
INF : oem98.inf
INF Section : AirDisplayWDDM

Not sure if this could/can interfere in any way?

-I've repaired Net Framework and updated chipset drivers (only ones I found were out of date). No Avail.
Last Edit: 2 years 1 month ago by hnbdgr.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Can't get Reshade hooked with Cliffs of Dover.. 2 years 1 month ago #11

So cleaned up all remnants of Airdisplay, perhaps except a single PCI regedit entry that I'm getting an access denied on.

ran sfc.exe / scannow with good result.... no cigar
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Can't get Reshade hooked with Cliffs of Dover.. 2 years 1 month ago #12

  • crosire
  • crosire's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Posts: 2650
  • Thank you received: 1520
Just an idea, but what happens if you copy the dxgi.dll from "C:\Windows\SysWOW64" into the game folder instead of ReShade?
Cheers, crosire =)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Can't get Reshade hooked with Cliffs of Dover.. 2 years 1 month ago #13

Thanks for still looking into this Crosire, I tried it now and the dxgi.dll from SysWOW64 runs perfectly.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Can't get Reshade hooked with Cliffs of Dover.. 2 years 1 month ago #14

  • crosire
  • crosire's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Posts: 2650
  • Thank you received: 1520
What if you rename ReShade to "d3d10.dll", with the system "dxgi.dll" still being in that directory?
Cheers, crosire =)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Can't get Reshade hooked with Cliffs of Dover.. 2 years 1 month ago #15

Ok Wait....

I Get:

ERROR1: The Direct3D device has a non-zero reference count, meaning some objects were not released.
ERROR 2: An error occurred in the device create callback function.

tracleog for d3d10.tracelog: dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/14123055/d3d10.tracelog

Also if I rename the system dxgi.dll to d3d10.dll without involving reshade it gives me the old: Could not find any compatible Direct3D devices.
Last Edit: 2 years 1 month ago by hnbdgr.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Can't get Reshade hooked with Cliffs of Dover.. 2 years 1 month ago #16

  • crosire
  • crosire's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Posts: 2650
  • Thank you received: 1520
Then try that with Cliffs of Dover. Install ReShade like usual, but rename it to "d3d10.dll", not "dxgi.dll".
Cheers, crosire =)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Can't get Reshade hooked with Cliffs of Dover.. 2 years 1 month ago #17

When I do that I get: The program can't start because dxgidebug.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem.

I checked and there certianly isn't a single dxgidebug.dll anywhere in the windows folder....

tracelog dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/14123055/d3d10%5B2%5D.tracelog
Last Edit: 2 years 1 month ago by hnbdgr.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Can't get Reshade hooked with Cliffs of Dover.. 2 years 1 month ago #18

Ok.... hold on to your hats. I made it work with the 32bit dxgi.dll

I did several thing, like uninstalled 2010 C++ Redist, installed DirectX SDK etc. Not sure if those did it. I'm 99% positive it was this:

support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/179113/en-us

specifically the Platform Update for Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 (KB2670838) which can be found here:

www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=36805

Now the 2670838 is also known as the evil update as it breaks functionalities in many games. It's highly recommended to uninstall for smooth operation of cliffs of dover, and every single person I know has it unistalled as it causes crashes. I haven't tested it yet for longer then 5 minutes but it seems stable on my system so far. So here's my question, can I use the DX11.1 component - which this basically is without this update?

And also how do I enable triple buffering in reshade?

EDIT: another thing is, the game exhibits random graphical glitches in menu and on the loading bar - much like with some versions of radeonpro. I guess it's a side-effect that I will have to live with. It's not game breaking.
Last Edit: 2 years 1 month ago by hnbdgr.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Can't get Reshade hooked with Cliffs of Dover.. 2 years 1 month ago #19

  • crosire
  • crosire's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Posts: 2650
  • Thank you received: 1520
The platform update is a lot more, not just partial functionality D3D11.1, mainly of interest here is probably DXGI1.2. But I have to say, I would be surprised if that was the culprint (but it's possible), since I was careful in only using DXGI1.1 (which Windows 7 ships with by default) and not to link to any D3D or DXGI libraries, everything is loaded dynamic so there are no dependencies on one of those.

Anyway, glad it's working now =).
ReShade doesn't have support to force tripple buffering (it had in the past, but it was removed since it broke some games).
Cheers, crosire =)
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: hnbdgr

Can't get Reshade hooked with Cliffs of Dover.. 2 years 1 month ago #20

Thanks, can you point me to a legacy version that does support triple buffering?
The administrator has disabled public write access.
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2