Where to start programming new shaders?

• januarybef
  • Topic Author
More
7 years 4 months ago #1 by januarybef Where to start programming new shaders? was created by januarybef
I'm an amateur programmer and I want to create some new shaders for Skyrim Special Edition and see how shaders work. But I have no idea where to start, where to add my code, ... . What I want to do is to program and add my own shader to play a certain effect on a simple plane in the game. Where should I start?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• crosire
More
7 years 4 months ago #2 by crosire Replied by crosire on topic Where to start programming new shaders?
You can't do that with ReShade. With ReShade you can write post-processing shaders that work on the entire image at once. Information about specific objects in the scene are not available.
The following user(s) said Thank You: januarybef

• januarybef
  • Topic Author
More
7 years 4 months ago - 7 years 4 months ago #3 by januarybef Replied by januarybef on topic Where to start programming new shaders?
I know about that. But I thought maybe if I could set the plane's texture to a very unusual color, like a high intensity blue, I could tell Reshade to take all of the pixels, forget the ones which are not this specific blue and do a specific action over the blue pixels. Couldn't I?
The question is not about how I can write this specific shader. It was just an example. I want to know how am i even supposed to write a shader using Reshade. Where should I save my shader. How to make Reshade inject my shader. How and which of the files should I include at the top of the program. The documentation seems quite vague (or maybe it's because I'm too amateur to understand it) Does it even have a debugging tool?
Last edit: 7 years 4 months ago by januarybef.

• crosire
More
7 years 4 months ago #4 by crosire Replied by crosire on topic Where to start programming new shaders?