Better motionblur shader

• NoMansReshade
  • Topic Author
More
7 years 4 months ago - 7 years 4 months ago #1 by NoMansReshade Better motionblur shader was created by NoMansReshade
From what I understand, reshade only has access to the current frame and the previous frame (correct me if I'm wrong). That being said, is it possible to make decent looking motionblur like the one seen in unreal engine 4? I'm no professional shader coder, but I can see that "traditional" motionblur methods use either motion vectors, or multiple frames (5 frames back or more etc.). The shader included with reshade 3.0 works as intended, however the resulting image ends up making me look drunk.

Drunk Example

Motionblur Example

Sorry for the poor examples, but hopefully you get what I am trying to say! This happens because of either the lack of resources reshade has access to, or because of the shader implementation. Any info is greatly appreciated!
Last edit: 7 years 4 months ago by NoMansReshade.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Insomnia
More
7 years 4 months ago #2 by Insomnia Replied by Insomnia on topic Better motionblur shader
I agree with you. What I want is a depth dependant motion blur shader that either blurs pixels close to camera, or vice versa.

• GP-Unity
More
7 years 4 months ago #3 by GP-Unity Replied by GP-Unity on topic Better motionblur shader
Many of us would like to see a great motion blur shader. Reshade however, doesn't have access to the previous frame(s). It's the same reason temporal anti-aliasing can't be implemented. Remember, Reshade in its current state can only work with the current frame, which means it doesn't know where to apply blur.

• Insomnia
More
7 years 4 months ago #4 by Insomnia Replied by Insomnia on topic Better motionblur shader
But since ReShade has access to depth buffers shouldn't it be possible to use the depth buffer to apply motion blur close to camera like in UE4?