Real-time Colour Cast Neutralizer

• Duran.te
  • Topic Author
More
5 years 2 months ago - 5 years 2 months ago #1 by Duran.te Real-time Colour Cast Neutralizer was created by Duran.te
Hi guys
I was wondering if it was possible to achieve an effect like the neutralize filter seen in photoshop to reduce color casting.
(What is the neutralize filter)

I'll take the game Need for Speed 2015 as an example. I took screenshots of two scenes with excessive color tint, I then applied the filter in photoshop and here's the result:

(gameplay source:
)
Last edit: 5 years 2 months ago by Duran.te.
The following user(s) said Thank You: MaxG3D, Viper_Joe, Arkane, Teh_pwnisher, thalixte, prod80

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Marty
More
5 years 2 months ago #2 by Marty Replied by Marty on topic Real-time Colour Cast Neutralizer
This effect would really make my life easier :cheer: I'm no programmer but it sounds like it should be possible.
At the very least you can apply the effect to LUT in Photoshop.

• Wicked Sick
More
5 years 2 months ago #3 by Wicked Sick Replied by Wicked Sick on topic Real-time Colour Cast Neutralizer
That would be nice to try.

• Fu-Bama
More
5 years 2 months ago #4 by Fu-Bama Replied by Fu-Bama on topic Real-time Colour Cast Neutralizer
It looks like a simple histogram normalization or curves RGB levels adjustment.

Principle is this:
• Sample whole image and determine maximum and minimum levels for Red Green and Blue
• On second pass apply this to the image:
CastRemoved = (SourceImg.rgb-Minimum.rgb)/(Maximum.rgb-Minimum.rgb)
• Then maybe mix original image.x in YUV with CastRemoved.yz in YUV to change only color

I would try it, but don't know how to pass variables between passes :/

• Chavolatra
More
5 years 2 months ago #5 by Chavolatra Replied by Chavolatra on topic Real-time Colour Cast Neutralizer
i very like this ideia hahaha =)

• Daodan
More