GettingDepth Buffer, as well as game compatibility

• katastic
  • Topic Author
More
7 years 4 months ago - 7 years 4 months ago #1 by katastic GettingDepth Buffer, as well as game compatibility was created by katastic
I'm a software developer. I want to look at the depth buffer of various games. It seems that ReShade doesn't provide that capability ... for cheating reasons?

Does ReShade include a simple Depth Buffer to Greyscale shader by default? (that is, from the github?) Am I just missing it?

Also, unfortunately, many of the games that I play... don't appear to work.

- (IIRC, ~last year, older version) System Shock 2 only showed the depth for the FPS gun. Is there a way to modify or tweak ReShade to adjust how it's capturing data to possibly fix this?

- Deus Ex using both DX9 and DX10 renderers don't work in the same way. Only color modifying shaders work and it only affects the 2-D HUD.

- Postal 2 doesn't appear to work. (I guess Unreal 2 engine games aren't supported?) It seems like there's no depth information, or something else is missing. Again, only the color modfiying shaders seem to work. For example, DOF never changes and shows permanent blur at the bottom and none at the very top.

- In both games, the statistics show zero draw calls. That seems like a big red flag that isn't not hooking correctly.

- STALKER: Clear Sky supposedly has proper support per the games page. But I get a solid black screen on loading a level. (Menu system works.)

In games that "don't work" is there anything that can be tweaked? Are there any plans for ReShade to be adapted to support them?

Thank you in advance.