Tips for toning down bloom/harsh bright colours?

• SirArthurStreebGreebling
  • Topic Author
More
8 years 7 months ago - 8 years 7 months ago #1 by SirArthurStreebGreebling Tips for toning down bloom/harsh bright colours? was created by SirArthurStreebGreebling
Hey everyone.

I'm currently trying to make a preset for supreme commander but the ingame bloom is really strong so its limiting what i can do. Any changes i make just seem to make it worse...while making everything else better. So I was wondering are there parameters to use just for this? Basically i want to be able to reduce just bright colours without altering the rest of the spectrum at all. I'm completely new to this side of things so I'm not sure if what I'm asking is silly or has an obvious answer.

I have a feeling its liftgammagain but anytime I've touched it I've made a mess since I don't understand it.

Maybe there should be an extended explanation of what exactly everything does in a seperate file in newer versions of Reshade sometime. Something like a pdf with useful techniques with images would be nice. I did kind of enjoy the trial and error of it all in the beginning but now that i want to do particular things I'm kind of stuck so something to explain some of the less obvious things would be useful.

Thanks.
Last edit: 8 years 7 months ago by SirArthurStreebGreebling.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• brussell
More
8 years 7 months ago #2 by brussell Replied by brussell on topic Tips for toning down bloom/harsh bright colours?
You can't really eliminate the bloom, but you can try to damp the highlights a little bit (while the image becomes more flat). Appropiate effects could be tonemap, filmic pass, reinhard, tuningpalette, lut.

Here is an example with Reinhard:
#define ReinhardLinearSlope 1.1 
#define ReinhardLinearWhitepoint 1.5  	#raising this value above 1damps the highlights
#define ReinhardLinearPoint 0.35