How does ReShade handle driver settings?

• Arkana
  • Topic Author
More
8 years 7 months ago #1 by Arkana How does ReShade handle driver settings? was created by Arkana
Hello everyone,

I'm kind of new to this whole shader thing; I've always been content with tweaking the settings of my NVIDIA driver to the max and never knew that something like ReShade even exists. Now that I do, I want to get started ASAP but the first question already pops up: how does ReShade handle my driver settings? Does it overwrite or reset them entirely? Just what does it do with them? :D

I appreciate any help I can get with that, as it's pretty much the only thing that's holding me back right now.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• crosire
More
8 years 7 months ago #2 by crosire Replied by crosire on topic How does ReShade handle driver settings?
It doesn't do anything with them. They continue to exist, although there can be conflicts sometimes (driver antialiasing often messes up rendering with ReShade).

It pretty much works like this:
Game output -> ReShade (this is where ReShade applies) -> Microsoft DirectX runtime or WGL (for OpenGL) -> Driver (this is where your driver settings are applied) -> GPU -> Monitor
The following user(s) said Thank You: Arkana

• Arkana
  • Topic Author
More
8 years 7 months ago - 8 years 7 months ago #3 by Arkana Replied by Arkana on topic How does ReShade handle driver settings?

crosire wrote: It doesn't do anything with them. They continue to exist, although there can be conflicts sometimes (driver antialiasing often messes up rendering with ReShade).

It pretty much works like this:
Game output -> ReShade (this is where ReShade applies) -> Microsoft DirectX runtime or WGL (for OpenGL) -> Driver (this is where your driver settings are applied) -> GPU -> Monitor