Open discussion about ReShade's UX: The Installer

• notnsane
  • Topic Author
More
7 years 3 months ago #1 by notnsane Open discussion about ReShade's UX: The Installer was created by notnsane
Hi all! I'm a long time user and lurker of these forums. I've been using SweetFX and ReShade since quite a bit ago. They are amazing tools to shape any game into beautiful landscapes.

That said, it pains me to mention that the tool's UX has always been an absolute and complete nightmare to handle. The 2.0 GUI tools were specially inconsistent and overly complicated for something that should take at most one or two clicks to install. They felt completely engineered, not designed, sadly.

But! 3.0 has been an absolute jump forward in usability, with less than I'd say 5 major issues to fix, and then quite a bit of minor inconveniences that are easy to fix.

Important note: IANAC (I am not a coder), so I just can't send PRs to github, though I could create some user flows and wireframes... but I can't create issues on github, If a coder wants my aid to create these user flows, just contact me via my website, which is my username with a .net to the right of it.

---

I'm going to start the discussion with I think the least important topic but albeit an important one...

ReShade's Installer

Instead of just spawning a ton of bullet points, I'm going to present each case in the form of a question of a normal, non tech-savvy user , to clearly see where the tool is failing:

1. I have 3000 games on _my preferred download platform_,... How can I install ReShade on all of them at once?

While this is unpractical for a quite a ton of reasons, it's still a valid question. Currently, ReShade 3.x has no way to install itself on several games. It can be easily solved with a Profile Manager that allows for proper updating included in the tool, like 2.x had (but designed with usability in mind)