Apply shader every x frames

• pneumatic
  • Topic Author
More
6 years 9 months ago - 6 years 9 months ago #1 by pneumatic Apply shader every x frames was created by pneumatic
Hello

Is it possible to apply a shader every x frames instead of every frame?

I have tried declaring a "counter" variable, incrementing it, and then using the [strike]modf function[/strike] % (modulo) to check if the remainder when divided by 2 equals 0, in order to apply the shader only every second frame, but nothing I try works (syntax/unexpected errors). Any guidance would be appreciated. I have basic knowledge of global/static scope, and from what I gather I should "return tex2D(RFX_backbufferColor, texcoord);" in order to make no modification to the final output colour. I would like to save as much GPU usage as possible for frames that don't receive any modification, so ideally I would not even want to perform any technique/pass on those alternate frames (if possible).

Thanks

edit: it looks like I should probably use
uniform float frametime < source = "frametime"; >;
Time in milliseconds it took for the last frame to complete.
uniform int framecount < source = "framecount"; >;
Total amount of frames since the game started.

edit: seems framecount doesn't work (or is unreliable), but timer seems to be ok
uniform float timer < source = "timer"; >;
Last edit: 6 years 9 months ago by pneumatic.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• crosire
More
6 years 9 months ago #2 by crosire Replied by crosire on topic Apply shader every x frames
Framecount should work just fine, but keep in mind it may contain very big numbers that do not work well in floating point precision, so you should modulo on the integer value directly.