Possible to have shader use own ..._FAR_PLANE?

• brother_david
  • Topic Author
More
6 years 4 weeks ago - 6 years 4 weeks ago #1 by brother_david BeamNG Reflective Bump Mapping Fresnel was created by brother_david
Ive been playing with Reshade presets a while now though i barely know what im doing. Impressed by what Reshade and the community built shaders can do!
BeamNG lacks fresnel so the paint looks kind of dull. Im using RBM to try and get a fresnel look. So far its working quite well but im having a few issues.

To stop RBM from giving everything no matter depth a reflection ive set the preprocessor RESHADE_DEPTH_LINEARIZATION_FAR_PLANE=50 instead of the default 1000.
This however effects other shaders such as MXAO and DOF. Im not good at all with coding but looking at the RBM code i kind of get what some of it does. Is there a way to set the RBM depth to a fixed 50, or adjustable depth for that matter, in the code, instead of it reading RESHADE_DEPTH_LINEARIZATION_FAR_PLANE?

Also, if a vehicle has a paint color other than greyscale, the fresnel effect gets toned the opposite color, if a car is yellow then the fresnel has a blue'ish tone, if the car is red then the fresnel gets a green tone. Is there a way to bring the tone down ord esaturate it completely (other than the existing color settings which removes the effect instead)?

Theres a few other small issues but these are my main concern atm :)

My Reshade preset with fresnel:
https://beamng.com/attachments/screenshot_00097-png.393600/

Without:
https://beamng.com/attachments/screenshot_00097-png.393601/
Last edit: 6 years 4 weeks ago by brother_david.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• brother_david
  • Topic Author
More
6 years 4 weeks ago #2 by brother_david Replied by brother_david on topic BeamNG Reflective Bump Mapping Fresnel
Maybe a dirty fix would be to change this row:

float EyeDepth = GetLinearDepth(coords.xy)*RESHADE_DEPTH_LINEARIZATION_FAR_PLANE;

To: