HDR: Override the swapchain?

• MajorPainTheCactus
  • Topic Author
More
2 years 1 day ago - 2 years 1 day ago #1 by MajorPainTheCactus HDR: Override the swapchain? was created by MajorPainTheCactus
Hi I'm new to Reshade and am trying to figure out how to port a HDR shader of mine from RetroArch to Reshade.

Essentially when I find a SDR output game is using a RGBA8 swapchain I'd like to override it with Reshade to use a HDR swapchain say R10G10B10A2 and set the accompanying metadata.

Then my shader will just do a simple reverse Reinhard tonemap and conversion to HDR10 colour space (I can take care of this part).

So is this possible with Reshade? I note a lot of comments about Special K doing it but I'm not sure of the relationship between the two. Effectively I want to do a poor man's AutoHDR. This isn't my direct goal just to add.

Anyway is this possible with Reshade i.e can I just set my techniques last pass's rendertarget to a R10B10G10A2 texture format and I'm good to go?
Last edit: 2 years 1 day ago by MajorPainTheCactus. Reason: missed HDR10 colour space conversion

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• rj200
More
2 years 1 day ago #2 by rj200 Replied by rj200 on topic HDR: Override the swapchain?
In theory, with the new plugin architecture, maybe - you'll have to write some C++. In practice it won't be easy and may need per-game tweaking to work. The game will have a whole chain of shaders that might need modifying. I think R16G16B16A16 be easier than R10G10B10A2 (the game might be using that 8bit A channel for somethign internally).

github.com/crosire/reshade/tree/main/examples

• MajorPainTheCactus
  • Topic Author
More
2 years 1 day ago #3 by MajorPainTheCactus Replied by MajorPainTheCactus on topic HDR: Override the swapchain?