Correct Image Pipeline

• vfxninjaeditor
  • Topic Author
More
8 years 8 months ago - 8 years 8 months ago #1 by vfxninjaeditor Correct Image Pipeline was created by vfxninjaeditor
Hey Lucifer (and other shader developers),

I am a VFX artist and compositor. I also work in photography and film. Reshade is absolutely fantastic and one of the best things to happen for PC gamers in good while.

Something I have been thinking about since the mediator got released is correct image pipeline. When doing visual effects one of the things that needs to be understood is how a camera works and what comes first. I know we are dealing with a video game shader suite, but I think the same techniques apply here and will improve the look of things in general.

I'll start by quickly going over the correct pipeline in video or film. The very first thing that happens is light hitting the lens of the camera. No light, no image. Light includes everything you can see and depth of field. The next thing is lens artifacts. These include natural lens vignetting, lens filter flares, lens distortion, lens blur caused by low quality glass (field curvature lens blur), lens flares, airy disk glow, astigmatism and chromatic aberration. The last thing, if you are shooting on film, is film grain. Other image alteration like post vignetting and color correction come very last. Adhering to this order results in more correct composites and better looking final images.

The current framework is all over the place with effect order. The mediator allows you to re-position some effects but sometimes you can only move whole suites at a time which makes sorting this as a user almost impossible.

As an example, here is a list of all current framework effects in the correct order (with explanations if needed):

1. Light (everything that pre-exists in the scene):
Reflective Bump Mapping
Ambient Occlusion