New Master effects no longer compatible with DOOM

  • Posts: 131
4 years 11 months ago #1 by BrandonHortman
For reference, last version most effects worked, including DOF, as of 1.1.111 using MFX on Doom results in this error

18/03/2015 07:38:28,459 [12336] | INFO | Loading effect from "C:\Program Files (x86)\Zandronum\ReShade.fx" ...
18/03/2015 07:38:28,687 [12336] | ERROR | Failed to compile effect on context 0B787BA0:

Fragment shader failed to compile with the following errors:
ERROR: 0:45: error(#438) Extension GL_ARB_bindless_texture is requried' by use image/sampler as output parameters'.
ERROR: error(#273) 1 compilation errors. No code generated

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 135
4 years 11 months ago - 4 years 11 months ago #2 by jmp909
Is this definitely mfx causing it? Rather than Reshade 0.150. Just guessing

Whilst I have zero shader coding knowledge , I'd be tempted to follow the error and add this line and see if that does anything! - But then I'm impatient and try to fix things I don't understand :)

#extension GL_ARB_bindless_texture : require

See here
www.gamedev.net/topic/653538-bindless-texture-bug/

Presumably Doom uses older OpenGL and therefore compatibility extensions are required

(disclaimer: if your graphics card melts , I take no responsibility.... Best wait for Marty!)
The following user(s) said Thank You: BrandonHortman

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 3632
4 years 11 months ago - 4 years 11 months ago #3 by crosire
ReShade's language isn't GLSL, so that will get you an error or do just nothing. =)
I would need to see the tracelog, which contains a copy of the generated GLSL shaders, since ME does something somewhere that it doesn't like.
The following user(s) said Thank You: BrandonHortman

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 131
4 years 11 months ago #4 by BrandonHortman
Thanks for the replies guys! Next time I'll put my post like this is in appropriate forum, I guess I just wasn't thinking =)

I'm reading up to try to understand how to get a tracelog file, seems like I need to follow this guide:
msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows...552994(v=vs.85).aspx


I got this error with the new version 16 of ReShade with MFX, again with all settings on zero.

19/03/2015 18:36:48:498 [07952] | INFO | Redirecting 'wglMakeCurrent(4B010AB6, 00030000)' ...
19/03/2015 18:36:48:507 [07952] | INFO | > Switched to new runtime 0B75B030.
19/03/2015 18:36:48:676 [07952] | INFO | Resizing runtime 0B75B030 on device context 4B010AB6 to 1366x768 ...
19/03/2015 18:36:48:679 [07952] | INFO | Recreated effect environment on runtime 0B75B030.
19/03/2015 18:36:48:707 [07952] | INFO | Loading effect from "C:\Program Files (x86)\Zandronum\ReShade.fx" ...
19/03/2015 18:36:48:769 [07952] | ERROR | Failed to compile effect on context 0B75B030:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Zandronum\ReShade.fx(2402, 10): error X3038: local variables cannot be textures or samplers
C:\Program Files (x86)\Zandronum\ReShade.fx(2402, 25): error X3000: syntax error: unexpected '=', expected 'identifier'


19/03/2015 18:37:16:390 [07952] | INFO | Redirecting 'wglMakeCurrent(00000000, 00000000)' ...
19/03/2015 18:37:16:390 [07952] | INFO | > Cleaning up runtime 0B75B030 ...
19/03/2015 18:37:16:401 [07952] | INFO | Redirecting 'wglDeleteContext(00030000)' ...
19/03/2015 18:37:16:523 [07952] | INFO | Exiting ...
19/03/2015 18:37:16:523 [07952] | INFO | Uninstalling 402 hook(s) ...
19/03/2015 18:37:17:043 [07952] | INFO | Exited.

Best wishes and great work!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 3632
4 years 11 months ago - 4 years 11 months ago #5 by crosire

BrandonHortman wrote: I'm reading up to try to understand how to get a tracelog file, seems like I need to follow this guide

Eh .... no =). I just called it tracelog, because it's common to name the log level with extensive/additional information the trace log level. The log format is custom to ReShade and you won't find something on it online. You get one by renaming the ".log" ReShade creates to ".tracelog" and restart the game.

The error there is a bug in ME. Can be fixed by replacing lines 2402 to 2406 with this:
#if (USE_SMAA == 1)
	#define SamplerCurrent SamplerHDR2
#else
	#define SamplerCurrent SamplerHDR1
#endif
The following user(s) said Thank You: Wicked Sick, BrandonHortman

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 131
4 years 10 months ago #6 by BrandonHortman
bahahaha ok I am on board now =D

pastebin.com/xMJiua8H

Replacing line 2402 to 2406 and renaming the two instances of /Mcresources to /Mastereffect got rid of all errors.

For reference I am using Zandronum. Before the update DOF, Sharpening, and color correction were available, but effects like AO resulted in textures being replaced by solid black lines ( in large blocks) Now the only time I see blur from DOF is briefly during the "wipe" between the time when I select a new game and the game starts.

I'll try it with GZdoom later to see if I have better luck =D

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 8
4 years 10 months ago #7 by SPAS
I'm using this with X-Plane 10 (openGL)

I get the "unable to load Source for texture 'texArea'!unable to load Source for texture 'texSearch'! "

plus ME takes away the shadows on the ground that the sun would project.

This does not happen with SweetFX... any ideas?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 2
4 years 10 months ago - 4 years 10 months ago #8 by BlackFish
You need the latest GZDoom to have the ME stuff working properly. Get the latest here.
devbuilds.drdteam.org/gzdoom/gzdoom-g2.1.pre-929-g887014c.7z

Zandronum has yet to catch up with the new renderer.
The following user(s) said Thank You: BrandonHortman

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.