Concatenating Two or More Images Together

• Cypher
  • Topic Author
More
5 years 3 weeks ago - 5 years 3 weeks ago #1 by Cypher Concatenating Two or More Images Together was created by Cypher
(Sorry if I may be using nontechnical terms since I'm new to Shader Programming)

I want to concatenate the Current Frame + Depth + Normals.

The "DisplayDepth.fx" shader extracts the Depth & Normals BUT when showing them, It splits the screen like this:
I want to display the whole original frame + the whole frame's depth + the whole frame's normals in a split screen (That would be 3 Structurally identical images in each frame). For example this Video shows 2 processed frames side by side each other:

I'm aiming for something like above but with 3 images per each frame: COLOR + DEPTH + NORMAL
These are the orders I'm looking for (preferebly the first one):

[1 = COLOR | 2 = DEPTH | 3 = NORMAL]

[1 = COLOR | 2 = DEPTH | 3 = NORMAL]

I've tried to modify the code for the Depth3D shader and came up with a way to show both the COLOR and the DEPTH side by side like this:
color = texcoord.x < 0.5 ? tex2D(BackBuffer, float2((texcoord.x*2), texcoord.y)) : depth;

But I don't know how to concatenate the NORMAL alongside these two images since it first needs to somehow be resized to 0.5 or 0.33 of the screen size and then added to the frame. I can resize both the COLOR and the DEPTH images using the `tex2D` function as shown above but I don't know how to resize the NORMAL. Is there a way to code this?

Thanks
Last edit: 5 years 3 weeks ago by Cypher.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• seri14
More
5 years 3 weeks ago #2 by seri14 Replied by seri14 on topic Concatenating Two or More Images Together
Write multi pass shader.
technique MyEffect
{
  pass first_execute
  {
    VertexShader = PostProcessVS;
    PixelShader = PS_First;
    RenderTarget = TemporaryTex_For_First;
  }
  pass second_execute
  {
    PixelShader = PS_Second;