Reshade crashing Sims 4 at various times

• mortimergoth
  • Topic Author
More
3 years 1 month ago - 3 years 1 month ago #1 by mortimergoth Reshade crashing Sims 4 at various times was created by mortimergoth
Hi! I've been using Reshade for a couple of years and have never had any issues with it until yesterday. I use two different presets, one for gameplay and one for screenshots. When I was in live mode and went to change the preset to the one for screenshots, the whole game crashed. Last I used the screenshot preset was about a month ago and I had no issues. Yesterday the gameplay preset was working just fine.

Now the game completely crashes at startup, sometimes at random, and I cannot open my game at all. Other times it's stuck on compiling and freezes the whole computer. I haven't changed any settings or anything in Reshade in a very long time, other than switching between my gameplay and screenshot presets. Also, I know everything is installed correctly because I've been using Reshade for a couple years with no adjustments.

I've tried various things for troubleshooting and have spent the last 8 hours trying to pinpoint what's causing the issue with no luck. I've tried launching the game with Reshade but without mods. I've repaired my game in Origin. I've tried to isolate a problem file by launching the game with different shaders and textures removed from the bin. I've tried changing the name of the d3d9.dll file. I've tried disabling Razer Cortex on my computer. I've reinstalled Reshade multiple times and have tried legacy versions as well, but it's still completely unusable. Help?
Last edit: 3 years 1 month ago by mortimergoth. Reason: More info

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• intramoon
More
3 years 3 weeks ago #2 by intramoon Replied by intramoon on topic Reshade crashing Sims 4 at various times