Welcome, Guest.
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Fallout 4 + ReShade = Crash

Fallout 4 + ReShade = Crash 1 year 3 weeks ago #1

I'm having an issue running ReShade with Fallout 4. When I run Fallout 4, it loads up a black screen before booting me back to desktop. I have ensured there are no overlays or ""gameboosters" interfering. I have attempted renamed the dxgi.dll to d3d9.dll, which results in Fallout running just fine, but with no ReShade post-processing. I would appreciate any help I can get!


Log:
Warning: Spoiler! [ Click to expand ]
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Fallout 4 + ReShade = Crash 1 year 3 weeks ago #2

  • crosire
  • crosire's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Posts: 2452
  • Thank you received: 1392
Please install the DirectX June 2010 end-user runtime as noted above the download button: www.microsoft.com/download/details.aspx?id=8109.
Cheers, crosire =)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Fallout 4 + ReShade = Crash 1 year 3 weeks ago #3

I should have mentioned, I installed the DirectX June 2010 runtime, but to no avail. I'm on Windows 10 64-bit, if that's any help. Thanks!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Fallout 4 + ReShade = Crash 1 year 3 weeks ago #4

bump
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Fallout 4 + ReShade = Crash 1 year 3 weeks ago #5

  • crosire
  • crosire's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Posts: 2452
  • Thank you received: 1392
Try to name ReShade "d3d11.dll".
Cheers, crosire =)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Fallout 4 + ReShade = Crash 1 year 3 weeks ago #6

Thanks again for the tip, but renaming to d3d11.dll crashes to desktop still -- d3d9.dll works, but reshade doesnt load.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Fallout 4 + ReShade = Crash 1 year 3 weeks ago #7

  • crosire
  • crosire's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Posts: 2452
  • Thank you received: 1392
Is there a d3dcompiler_46.dll in your Windows/system32 folder?
Cheers, crosire =)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Fallout 4 + ReShade = Crash 1 year 2 weeks ago #8

There is no such thing! I just tried placing a D3DCompiler_46.dll from H1Z1 resources into my system32 folder, but to no avail. Am I doing something wrong?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Fallout 4 + ReShade = Crash 1 year 2 weeks ago #9

  • crosire
  • crosire's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Posts: 2452
  • Thank you received: 1392
Sorry, I meant D3DCompiler_43.dll, mixed up the version numbers.
Cheers, crosire =)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Fallout 4 + ReShade = Crash 1 year 2 weeks ago #10

Hm, I do have D3D9Compiler_43.dll in my system32 folder.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Fallout 4 + ReShade = Crash 1 year 2 weeks ago #11

  • crosire
  • crosire's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Posts: 2452
  • Thank you received: 1392
Then everything should run fine. Are you running the game in fullscreen mode? What about MSAA?
Cheers, crosire =)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Fallout 4 + ReShade = Crash 1 year 2 weeks ago #12

I've tried different combinations of fullscreen/windowed/borderless with TAA on and off, as well as no antiscropic filtering. All NVIDIA effects in the control panel are set to game-determined as well. However, I am confused about MSAA, as I have not seen such an option.
Last Edit: 1 year 2 weeks ago by Gazorpazorpfield.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Fallout 4 + ReShade = Crash 1 year 2 weeks ago #13

I'm in the same boat as Gazorpazorp. FO4 crashes almost immediately upon launch while trying to "compile effect." I've taken all of the steps mentioned here (as well as many others found elsewhere), but no luck.

I don't know if it's helpful, but here's my log:

Warning: Spoiler! [ Click to expand ]
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Fallout 4 + ReShade = Crash 1 year 1 week ago #14

Edit: Renaming dxgi.dll to d3d11 helped. But I cant force FXAA TSAA Sepia or any other things. Game starts to crash then. Is this normal?

Fallout 4 crashes for me too. My log differs from these two guys with the end:
Using windows 10 x64. Dx SDK installed. Also tried Gta V got same thing - hangs on startup. I have no overlay programs enabled and even nvidia shadowplay is off
25/11/2015 20:13:08:410 [08764] | INFO  | Recreated runtime environment on runtime 000000A6327E5640.
25/11/2015 20:13:08:461 [08764] | INFO  | Redirecting 'ID3D11Device::CreateDeferredContext(000000A630F5CD30, 0, 000000A5089C82C0)' ...
25/11/2015 20:13:08:470 [08764] | INFO  | Redirecting 'IDXGISwapChain::SetFullscreenState(000000A631F48690, TRUE, 0000000000000000)' ...
25/11/2015 20:13:08:705 [08764] | INFO  | Redirecting 'D3D11CreateDevice(000000A631ED6400, 0, 0000000000000000, 0x80, 000000A505FEF380, 1, 7, 000000A505FEF388, 0000000000000000, 0000000000000000)' ...
25/11/2015 20:13:08:705 [08764] | INFO  | > Passing on to 'D3D11CreateDeviceAndSwapChain':
25/11/2015 20:13:08:705 [08764] | INFO  | Redirecting 'D3D11CreateDeviceAndSwapChain(000000A631ED6400, 0, 0000000000000000, 0x80, 000000A505FEF380, 1, 7, 0000000000000000, 0000000000000000, 000000A505FEF388, 0000000000000000, 0000000000000000)' ...

Full log
Warning: Spoiler! [ Click to expand ]
Last Edit: 1 year 1 week ago by nanomed.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Fallout 4 + ReShade = Crash 1 year 1 week ago #15

Has anything come of this? I can't get Fallout 4 to load with ReShade on my laptop. I've tried everything this thread, and a few others.Here's my log file.

Warning: Spoiler! [ Click to expand ]
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Fallout 4 + ReShade = Crash 11 months 2 weeks ago #16

Alright so I signed up just so i could figure out how to get this to work.I have a nvidia gtx 860m, and i downloaded the june 2010 end-user, disabled steam overlay and nvidia streamer service, I made sure there are nothing that would interfere with reshade and I also tried changing it to d3d11 and the d3d11 works but I am trying to get it to work with enb. DXGI makes my game crash, there are two crashing scenarios, 1: I use reshade with enb, and second is Reshade alone , the game starts and i get to the menu but once i click on the screen the game freezes i play the game on medium settings what happens in the dxgi log is that it gets stuck on this "Redirecting 'D3D11CreateDeviceAndSwapChain(0000006AB67B1140, 0, 0000000000000000, 0x80, 0000006986F6EEF0, 1, 7, 0000000000000000, 0000000000000000, 0000006986F6EEF8, 0000000000000000, 0000000000000000)' ..." I have even tried letting it redirect overnight when i sleep and when i wake up nothing changes, I have updated everything multiple times. I could really use some help, no clue whats going on......
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Fallout 4 + ReShade = Crash 11 months 2 weeks ago #17

UPDATE: [SOLVED] See my next post.
Similar to Black_Viper, I joined as a last hope to find a solution. Every driver and patch is current, I installed the (June 2010) dx runtime, no overlays are running.

1) If I launch WITH ENBoost installed, it hangs on a black screen, can't even alt+tab out. After opening task-manager, a crash dialogue appears that reports "PrecisionXServerHooks_x64.dll" at fault. However, all overlays are turned off, and PrecisionX isn't even running. Here's the log from that scenario:
Warning: Spoiler! [ Click to expand ]


2) I then uninstalled ENBoost and renamed ReShadle64.dll to dxgi.dll. This allowed the game to startup with the presets enabled in the intro video, main menu, save thumbnails, and save load screen, but the game crashes before loading (without a crash dialogue). This is the log from that scenario:
Warning: Spoiler! [ Click to expand ]


3) I finally tried renaming ReShadele64.dll to d3d11.dll. This allowed me to launch the game, it displayed the ReShade watermark in the top left, I was able to load and play the game, but no presets were active or able to be toggled. It was default vanilla. *I also tried renaming to d3d9.dll, but it still loads with no effect. This is the log for those scenarios:
Warning: Spoiler! [ Click to expand ]


I have no idea what is going wrong here. I'm out of ideas. Are there specific launch settings I should use? Should AA be enabled/disabled, etc... I know for some ENBs they won't work if they are set to handle AA and you have AA enabled in game. Is that an issue at all for ReShade? Never used this before.
Last Edit: 11 months 2 weeks ago by kyd462. Reason: solved
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Fallout 4 + ReShade = Crash 11 months 2 weeks ago #18

Alright well after numerous testing I found what helps me run the game, I checked windowed, then uncheck borderless, and the game seems to work fine, loading both enb and reshade. Its not how I would like it to be , but its the only way i got it to work,
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Fallout 4 + ReShade = Crash 11 months 2 weeks ago #19

[SOLVED]
ReShade + ENBoost + Fullscreen + PrecisionX

For me, the issue was a dll associated with PresicionX but read on. I had all the OSD features disabled before I even tried ReShade. I had even closed the application altogether (which I didn't want to do, since it controls my GPU fan), but even that didn't work, as you can see from the results of my post above. I still suspected PrecisionX, but the problem was: I couldn't find any trace of EVGA or PrecisionX processes running at all. Still, when I ran WhoCrashed a PrecisionX dll kept coming up as the file to blame. (How was this dll being used if PrecisionX wasn't even running!?)

Long story short: the problem isn't PrecisionX itself, it's the PrecisionXServerHooks_x64.dll (presumably an update server). The good news is, you can safely remove PrecisionXServerHooks_x64.dll (save a backup!!!) and still run PrecisionX without a problem. I'm not 100% certain (more like 90%), but I believe this dll is only used to check for updates to the software. Removing it has had zero negative impact on the programs functionality.

After doing this, I was able to reinstall ENBoost, return to Fullscreen, as well as load and play FO4 with presets enabled! Hooray!

I imagine a similar issue could be the case for Afterburner (etc) users. If there is an update service associated with your GPU managing software, try disabling or uninstalling that and see if it helps. just check your crash popup (if you get one) for "more info" and it should tell you exactly what file is causing the problem, then it's a matter of figuring out why, or what to do about it. ;) You can also get programs like "WhoCrashed" that can tell you more about what caused a crash.

I hope everyone else is able to solve this as well.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Fallout 4 + ReShade = Crash 11 months 1 week ago #20

Hmm i still can't seem to pass the redirecting D3D11CreateDeviceAndSwapChain, it always stops here then freezes me when i switch back to the game everytime.
The administrator has disabled public write access.
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2