Welcome, Guest.
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Thief (2014)

Thief (2014): ReShade Doesn't Hook 1 year 9 months ago #1

  • robb
  • robb's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Posts: 2
ReShade 0.15.0 doesn't appear to be able to hook onto Thief x86/x64 (at least that's how I'm interpreting the log). Others have the issue too as linked/quoted in my earlier post (#232 in Compatibility List).

For quicker access:
Tracelog / Log

Have done the following to try to fix it:
  • Disabled all overlays (RTSS, Steam)
  • Changed graphical settings ingame (Removing SSAA, downsampling, Vsync, etc.)
  • Also placed files in "/Binaries/Win64/" even though that directory is ignored
  • Tried x86, same as above point
  • Not forcing anything via driver on game
  • Removed modded game files to remove additional prompts/processes as game launches
  • Skipped launcher
  • Used ReShade 0.14.0 (Log mirrors 0.15.0 exactly)
  • Renamed dxgi.dll to d3d11.dll

Anything else I (or we) can do? Personally, this is on a recently freshly installed Win8.1 x64 system, so I don't have any other 3rd party programs (such as Razer GameBooster, etc) that would conflict with the game other than drivers and RTSS/Afterburner/AV suite.
Last Edit: 1 year 8 months ago by robb.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Thief (2014): ReShade Doesn't Hook 1 year 9 months ago #2

  • crosire
  • crosire's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Posts: 2437
  • Thank you received: 1384
Took me a while to figure this one out, but it's fixed in the next version. =)

A little background on what happens here:
  1. Game loads D3D11.dll
  2. ReShade gets notified, installs D3D11 hooks and removes D3D11 from list of delayed hooks
  3. Game unloads D3D11.dll again
  4. Game does some work
  5. Game loads D3D11.dll
  6. ReShade gets notified once again, but thinks that D3D11 hooks are already installed and does nothing (though they are not, because the DLL was unloaded in the meantime)
  7. D3D11 isn't hooked, hence the error message
To fix this I changed the hook manager to keep a reference to the loaded DLLs, so to prevent the game from unloading the DLL again, unless ReShade is unloaded itself.
Cheers, crosire =)
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: JPulowski, Wicked Sick, robb

Thief (2014): ReShade Doesn't Hook 1 year 9 months ago #3

  • Wicked Sick
  • Wicked Sick's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Die young or suffer (Forgive my poor English)
  • Posts: 360
  • Thank you received: 105
GREAT!
Finding relief somewhere between a tree's branch and its shade.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Thief (2014): ReShade Doesn't Hook 1 year 8 months ago #4

Thief still doesn't work even with the 0.16 update.
Last Edit: 1 year 8 months ago by Amarx.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Thief (2014): ReShade Doesn't Hook 1 year 8 months ago #5

I have something strange to report on Thief. For me Reshade 0.16 works right out of the box, for both 32 and 64bit versions of the game, all settings max, Mantle disabled, nothing forced via drivers. But there is no depth buffer - or better there is but it is intermittent, it flickers. I thought it had to do with ingame SSAA being activated so I turned that off and there it was in all its glory (actually this jpeg turned out way too dark, ingame all objects' outline is visible)

Warning: Spoiler! [ Click to expand ]


Only that the game at that point looked like this
Warning: Spoiler! [ Click to expand ]


or this
Warning: Spoiler! [ Click to expand ]


Textures flickering, objects coming in and out of existence, lights shining through walls, all kinds of strange things happening. It occurs even with all .fx files removed and it does not appear if I rename/remove the Reshade .dll. Lowering or disabling other graphics options doesn't seem to influence the result and the log file looks normal. Don't know what to make of this.
Last Edit: 1 year 8 months ago by SpinelessJelly.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Thief (2014): ReShade Doesn't Hook 1 year 8 months ago #6

  • crosire
  • crosire's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Posts: 2437
  • Thank you received: 1384
SpinelessJelly wrote:
Textures flickering, objects coming in and out of existence, lights shining through walls, all kinds of strange things happening.
Yeah, I know. Haven't yet figured out what the hell is happening there, I was hoping it's just on my end ... I'll continue looking for a solution =)
Cheers, crosire =)
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: SpinelessJelly

Thief (2014): ReShade Doesn't Hook 1 year 1 month ago #7

  • Wicked Sick
  • Wicked Sick's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Die young or suffer (Forgive my poor English)
  • Posts: 360
  • Thank you received: 105
Hi o/ I just tried this with the non-beta release; This game is going to be like Phanton Pain, right?



http://pastebin.com/C7NFVtCS
Finding relief somewhere between a tree's branch and its shade.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Thief (2014): ReShade Doesn't Hook 1 year 1 month ago #8

  • crosire
  • crosire's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Posts: 2437
  • Thank you received: 1384
Seems like it. I spend multiple hours trying to figure out what's causing these glitches, but got nowhere. So I gave up on it, since they are very specific to just this one game.
Cheers, crosire =)
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Wicked Sick

Thief (2014): ReShade Doesn't Hook 1 year 1 month ago #9

  • Wicked Sick
  • Wicked Sick's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Die young or suffer (Forgive my poor English)
  • Posts: 360
  • Thank you received: 105
I see, thank you, Crosire, for all the time you invested in it ^^
Finding relief somewhere between a tree's branch and its shade.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Thief (2014): ReShade Doesn't Hook 1 year 2 weeks ago #10

  • lowenz
  • lowenz's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Posts: 155
  • Thank you received: 15
Any news? Same problem with 1.1
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Thief (2014): ReShade Doesn't Hook 1 year 2 weeks ago #11

  • crosire
  • crosire's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Posts: 2437
  • Thank you received: 1384
As said before, I gave up on it, as it's only this one game and no other. Sorry =/.
Cheers, crosire =)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Thief (2014): ReShade Doesn't Hook 5 months 2 weeks ago #12

Hi! :)

I was searching how to make reshade work with this game cos i was a little bit lost with the fact there was binaries and binaries2 and win32 and win64.
I saw that lot of people says reshade isn't working correctly on this game but i tried it and it seems it work pretty fine.
I have no issues like strange textures or else.
But the only very big issue i have is to have it working fine in 3D as it only work for the right eye.
The left eye don't have reshade working.
I'm using reshade 1.1.0f1 and use direct3D 10/11 on Steam\steamapps\common\Thief\Binaries2\Win64
Any idea of why it work only with one eye?
Edit: When i launch the game i can see the text info on the top left of the screen only on the right eye, the left eye show nothing.
Last Edit: 5 months 2 weeks ago by Neo™.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Thief (2014): ReShade Doesn't Hook 5 months 2 weeks ago #13

  • crosire
  • crosire's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Posts: 2437
  • Thank you received: 1384
ReShade does not support multiple backbuffers (which is what you have in 3D, one for the left eye, one for the right). That's why it only shows up on one of them.
Cheers, crosire =)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Thief (2014): ReShade Doesn't Hook 5 months 2 weeks ago #14

  • lowenz
  • lowenz's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Posts: 155
  • Thank you received: 15
I saw that lot of people says reshade isn't working correctly on this game but i tried it and it seems it work pretty fine.
I have no issues like strange textures or else.


Not a surprise if you've enabled SSAA.....the problem is present without the SSAA.
And still present with ReShade 3 alpha 6.
Last Edit: 5 months 2 weeks ago by lowenz.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Thief (2014): ReShade Doesn't Hook 5 months 2 weeks ago #15

But i got no problems with a lot of other games where i can use reshade and 3D vision.
And i'm not very sure now but i believe i played this game a little bit last year in 3D with reshade (or sweetFX) and i don't remember i had this issue ( but it's may be cos i wasn't using HDR before)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Thief (2014): ReShade Doesn't Hook 5 months 2 weeks ago #16

lowenz wrote:
Not a surprise if you've enabled SSAA.....the problem is present without the SSAA.
And still present with ReShade 3 alpha 6.

effectively, when i set ACSE (it's probably the french name of SSAA) the game is a little bit weird. :)
The administrator has disabled public write access.