ReShade no longer working with World of Warcraft Shadowlands prepatch

• user14
  • Topic Author
More
3 years 6 months ago - 3 years 3 months ago #1 by user14 ReShade no longer working with World of Warcraft Shadowlands prepatch was created by user14
Update
It seems like the issue is with Nvidia video cards specifically on Windows 7 and 8.1; Windows 10 doesn't appear to be having this issue. If it's not working on Windows 10, try upgrading to Nvidia driver 456.71 or later if you haven't already. Another possible solution is to remove the _ptr_ folder in the WoW directory if you have it.

As of 12/22/2020, ReShade still isn't working with Windows 7. The only solution so far seems to be to upgrade to Windows 10 or use a dedicated Windows 10 partition/drive when loading up WoW.

I've been using ReShade in World of Warcraft since about 2017 without issue but the recent pre-expansion patch is causing some kind of incompatibility and I can't start up the application with it anymore. A web search didn't return much about this specifically so I thought I'd start a topic here to see if others have ran into this too.

I haven't updated ReShade at all until now so the previous version was at least 3 years old. Once the game patch was applied, I received a critical error (#132) which usually points to a set of cache files being corrupt or graphics card drivers needing to be updated so I tried both and many other solutions but it had no effect.

Eventually I found that dxgi.dll from the ReShade install was causing the problem. The game runs without issue when ReShade is uninstalled but it's too much of a visual downgrade for me without it. I updated my ReShade install to version 4.7.0 to try and resolve the problem but it returns a different error. Now, when I try to start the game up, the follow error message appears: "Your 3D accelerator card is not supported by World of Warcraft. For more information please see ..."