The Chronicles of Riddick - Assault on Dark Athena

  • Posts: 220
4 years 7 months ago #1 by DeMondo
Hello, I have encountered a problem with The Chronicles of Riddick - Assault on Dark Athena while I tried both the latest ReShade {v0.19.2} with Framework Pack and the Reshade + Master FX ReBorn v1.1.287 Pack ("standalone" without Framework), the screen becomes totally black, even if I disabled all effects, while the intro vids are being showed, the menu following after & the rest are giving a fully black screen. In the ReShade Compatibility List I saw the status for this game is good... (?)
I tried the "famous" Alt-Tabbing fix without any success.

A small part of the OPENGL32.log:
24/07/2015 01:20:57:588 [06932] | INFO | Loading effect from "C:\Games\Assault on Dark Athena\System\Win32_x86\ReShade.fx" ...
24/07/2015 01:20:57:697 [06932] | INFO | > Successfully compiled effect.
24/07/2015 01:20:58:757 [06932] | ERROR | Failed to create depth texture with error code 1280
24/07/2015 01:20:59:274 [06932] | ERROR | Failed to create depth texture with error code 1280
24/07/2015 01:20:59:790 [06932] | ERROR | Failed to create depth texture with error code 1280

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 3638
4 years 7 months ago #2 by crosire
Looks like the game uses a depthbuffer format that ReShade does not handle correctly. But without more debugging info it's hard to see which one that is. Could we connect via Steam, so I can send you a test build?
The following user(s) said Thank You: DeMondo

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 220
4 years 7 months ago #3 by DeMondo
Thank you for your reply.

np, I will send you an invitation via Steam. {Semper}

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 220
4 years 1 month ago #4 by DeMondo
..after a long time & trying different versions of ReShade the problem still persists, even when all ReShade Framework effects are disabled.

After the visible intro vids the screen goes black.
ReShade Framework: v1.1
Anti-aliasing ingame & through nVidia driver: disabled

OPENGL32.log:
Warning: Spoiler! [ Click to expand ]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 220
4 years 1 month ago #5 by DeMondo
bump

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 3638
4 years 1 month ago - 4 years 1 month ago #6 by crosire
ReShade/your graphics drivers do not currently support depth buffers of format GL_DEPTH_STENCIL_EXT (0x84F9 = 34041).

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 220
4 years 1 month ago #7 by DeMondo
Thank you very for your answer although it doesnt give me more info than I already saw from the log file (OPENGL32.log).

I use latest nVidia drivers, and the ReShade games list [ reshade.me/compatibility ] says ReShade should work properly:
"Chronicles of Riddick: Dark Athena 0.14.0 opengl32.dll Good No depth buffer access."

I have zero knowledge about (writing) shaders, Im not a shader developer, how can the black screen problem be fixed?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 3638
4 years 1 month ago #8 by crosire
Doesn't look like it can be fixed without changes to ReShade. Seems like the compatibility list is outdated in this case.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 220
4 years 1 month ago #9 by DeMondo
-> Crosire is it doable & reachable for you to make those kind of changes to ReShade in order to fix the black screen problem or would that be just a waste of time in that challenge?

Strange thing is for some people it did work (all effects), even DOF & AO:
* Reshade 0.19.2: reshade.me/forum/general-discussion/87-c...-list?start=402#7049

* ReShade 0.14.0: reshade.me/forum/general-discussion/87-c...-list?start=174#1376

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 3638
4 years 1 month ago #10 by crosire
What graphics card (vendor and model) do you have?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 220
4 years 1 month ago #11 by DeMondo
Its a Nvidia Geforce GTX 980 Strix.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 258
4 years 1 month ago - 4 years 1 month ago #12 by brussell
Since I tested the game back in the days and gave it a "good", I've revisited it again to verify your problem. To my surprise it suffers from a similar issue that I had with Soma (also opengl). In Soma I got texture glitches and after digging around for quite some time, I've found the reason. The problem (missing textures in Soma, black screen in Riddick) occurs, when the number of defined samplers exceed a specific value. In Riddick you can only define 8 samplers, one more and you get a black screen. One can verify this with a simple ReShade.fx:
texture testtexture {Width=BUFFER_WIDTH; Height=BUFFER_HEIGHT;};
sampler testsampler1 {Texture=testtexture;};
sampler testsampler2 {Texture=testtexture;};
sampler testsampler3 {Texture=testtexture;};
sampler testsampler4 {Texture=testtexture;};
sampler testsampler5 {Texture=testtexture;};
sampler testsampler6 {Texture=testtexture;};
sampler testsampler7 {Texture=testtexture;};
sampler testsampler8 {Texture=testtexture;};
//sampler testsampler9 {Texture=testtexture;};         //Uncommenting this will cause black screen

Since the generic ReShade.fx of the Framework loads all the Util.fx with their numerous sampler definitions, you always get this problem.
I use MasterEffect and avoid this problem by only defining the samplers that I need and enclose them in if statements (e.g. #if (USE_BLOOM == 1) texBloom1 {...}; SamplerBloom1 {...}; #endif)

btw: beside this issue the game runs "perfectly": depth effects work
The following user(s) said Thank You: DeMondo

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 258
4 years 1 month ago #13 by brussell
So crosire, is this a problem you can fix within Reshade or is it beyond your capabilities?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 220
4 years 4 weeks ago #14 by DeMondo
bump

[6 months later...still nothing..]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 220
4 years 2 weeks ago #15 by DeMondo
bump


crosire are you able to answer..
or is it beyond your capabilities to solve the OpenGL black screen problem?.

Timeline of this problem:
* 6 months ago I started this topic for the black screen problem:
--> reshade.me/forum/troubleshooting/938-the...-on-dark-athena#7564

* 6 months ago you asked me if I could add you on Steam, so I invited you, than you went on vacation and you sent me a test build of ReShade to test it with The Chronicles of Riddick - Assault on Dark Athena:
--> reshade.me/forum/troubleshooting/938-the...-on-dark-athena#7577

* After you came back from vacation I sent you a message via Steamchat about this problem than a few more --> but zero responses from your side.

* 3 weeks ago I started up this topic again:
--> reshade.me/forum/troubleshooting/938-the...on-dark-athena#11969

* 2 weeks ago you asked about what graphics card I use, I answer you --> but again zero responses from your side afterwards:
--> reshade.me/forum/troubleshooting/938-the...athena?start=6#12147

As everyone can see, its kind of beyond annoying, if you are not able to solve this problem than say it, but no responses from your side on a forum you created yourself is kind of awkward.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 3638
4 years 2 weeks ago - 4 years 2 weeks ago #16 by crosire
I don't know. Missing support for depth texture format 34041 has been added to 2.0, which fixes the error in the log. Whether it's related to your issue or not, I can't say.
I have a lot on my plate currently, so I'm sorry if I don't find the time to answer more complex questions like this one right now.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 220
4 years 2 weeks ago #17 by DeMondo
No problem crosire, I understand, thank you for your answer this time, I will leave this black screen problem alone and rest this case.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.