4.0

  • Posts: 220
1 year 8 months ago #121 by DeMondo
Im a tad late to the party but anyway ReShade 4 what an awesome release !!! Many thanks Crosire !!
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 343
1 year 8 months ago - 1 year 8 months ago #122 by OtisInf

amoebae wrote:

OtisInf wrote: Would require the old shader code, or manually change 'slider' into 'drag' at the top of the file in a text editor. Use the link I gave above to browse to the old shader version which has 'drag' instead of 'slider' in the variable /control definitions at the top of the file.

so either copy/paste this: raw.githubusercontent.com/crosire/reshad...aders/LumaSharpen.fx

or change 'slider' into 'drag' here: github.com/crosire/reshade-shaders/blob/...s/LumaSharpen.fx#L14 in the file you have on disk (and the other slider definitions of course ;))


Thanks for the info. So just changing slider to drag for every ui element will make it look and act like it used to? Will the click-to-input function still be there, or was that controlled by something else?

That will indeed be the case: it will again behave like before and click-to-input is then also working as that's a feature of the drag control. The slider doesn't have that.

Also, as someone who isn't familiar at all with github, I find navigating it an almost entirely opaque process. Is there a way for someone (a group effort, perhaps) to make it easy to access old versions of shaders all grouped together as they would be if downloading the current versions? Similar to how we have the repository for old binaries?

Github is a system where you can store sets of files and each change on each file is logged and you can go back to any previous version of any file. So if you go to the 'commit' page:
github.com/crosire/reshade-shaders/commits/master
You see each set of changes to the files, creating a new version of the set of files (the 'repository'). Now, do you see the buttons on the right with the <> characters? If you click on them, you get the repository at that moment, so all changes made to it after that aren't there. So if you want to go back to the repository state before the change from slider to drag, you have to click to the button on the commit right before it. Which is this one:
github.com/crosire/reshade-shaders/tree/...340a66495ac1ac059c85
If you then click the 'clone or download' button on the right (the green one), you get all shaders with the state of that moment in time.

This could be made easier of course, hence I asked above that there could be added a 'branch' for v3 shaders so you could always go to the state of the v3 shaders without digging through commits.

As users and preset authors, there are a ton of presets out there that were made with specific versions of ReShade, and that are tied to the shaders that were released at that time. It's easy to download the relevant binary, but near impossible to get hold of the relevant shaders. As it stands, it's not a particularly user-friendly process.

It indeed leaves a lot to be desired. I added the shaders I made/worked on to a separate repository which are compatible with 3.4.1 and v4: github.com/FransBouma/OtisFX but it's not ideal. Fragmentation isn't great, everything should be in one place.

But alas, this all requires work, from the installer to the repository to add branches/tags so the installer can pull the right shaders, and thus time, which is always a scarce resource. I don't mind helping out, but the whole process of what's planned and what to do best is totally opaque so I don't want to waste time on things that aren't wanted/needed.
The following user(s) said Thank You: amoebae
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 10
1 year 8 months ago #123 by dorez`
Thank you very much for your work !!! I previously had version 4.01 and IL2 worked fine, until I installed 4 02 when I started the game a black screen
I can’t configure it at all and the most important thing I can’t return is version 4.01 with which it worked perfectly. When installing version 4.01, after launching the game, the settings of the new version are released ??? Please help
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 5
1 year 8 months ago #124 by CHOPPER

Martigen wrote:

CHOPPER wrote: Great update, on the old version, so many of the shaders were broken on Sven Coop now all of them works great!

But the "FXAA" doesn't work anymore, also "PerfectPerspective".

Both of these are working for me with 4.02.

What errors are you getting?


How can I copy the errors? I can't copy with CTRL+C & CTRL+V
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 5
1 year 8 months ago #125 by CHOPPER

lowenz wrote:

CHOPPER wrote: Great update, on the old version, so many of the shaders were broken on Sven Coop now all of them works great!

But the "FXAA" doesn't work anymore, also "PerfectPerspective".

Did you update the shader package?


Yes
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 1221
1 year 8 months ago #126 by Marty McFly

CHOPPER wrote: How can I copy the errors? I can't copy with CTRL+C & CTRL+V


ReShade spits out the log in text file as well, in the same folder as the DLL.
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 5
1 year 8 months ago - 1 year 8 months ago #127 by CHOPPER

Martigen wrote:

CHOPPER wrote: Great update, on the old version, so many of the shaders were broken on Sven Coop now all of them works great!

But the "FXAA" doesn't work anymore, also "PerfectPerspective".

Both of these are working for me with 4.02.

What errors are you getting?


19:45:56:380 [12280] | ERROR | Failed to compile "D:\\SteamLibrary\\steamapps\\common\\Sven Co-op\\reshade-shaders\\Shaders\\FXAA.fx":
Vertex shader failed to compile with the following errors:
ERROR: 1:74: error(#132) Syntax error: "noperspective" parse error
ERROR: error(#273) 1 compilation errors. No code generated

19:51:14:990 [12280] | ERROR | Failed to compile "D:\\SteamLibrary\\steamapps\\common\\Sven Co-op\\reshade-shaders\\Shaders\\PerfectPerspective.fx":
Vertex shader failed to compile with the following errors:
ERROR: 1:142: error(#202) No matching overloaded function found: fwidth
ERROR: 1:142: error(#160) Cannot convert from: "const float" to: "highp 2-component vector of vec2"
ERROR: 1:178: error(#202) No matching overloaded function found: fwidth
ERROR: 1:180: error(#202) No matching overloaded function found: fwidth
ERROR: error(#273) 4 compilation errors. No code generated
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 13
1 year 8 months ago #128 by ScorpionBSG
Reshade 4.0.2 is not working on old games. First start is ok, i'm out of the game, then I re-enter and the game crashes.
drive.google.com/file/d/1qdbShLP3WQbq87p...msK/view?usp=sharing
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 6
1 year 8 months ago #129 by syphlor
Hi, I just made an account to report a bug that has been causing me a lot of headaches.

I really have no clue what the actual bug or problem is, but on GTA V with 4.0 - 4.02 versions, the game will launch the first time and I can use it fine, all the presets and .fx files work, but the next time I go to open it, it crashes on startup. It get's to the part of loading the .fx files and force quits. I have tried removing the config file and all presets, so it launches fresh, and when i do that, no .fx files load. It's really strange and I haven't been able to figure out why this is happening for days.

Here is a screenshot of dxgi.log where the game force quits: i.imgur.com/raZKaQa.png
3.4.1 still works and it looks like I'll have to stick with that for now.. I hope this bug can be addressed at some point
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 6
1 year 8 months ago #130 by syphlor

ScorpionBSG wrote: Reshade 4.0.2 is not working on old games. First start is ok, i'm out of the game, then I re-enter and the game crashes.
drive.google.com/file/d/1qdbShLP3WQbq87p...msK/view?usp=sharing


I have the exact some problem, I just made a post about!

Does you dxgi.log look like mine, too?
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 13
1 year 8 months ago #131 by ScorpionBSG
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 13
1 year 8 months ago #132 by ScorpionBSG
Why the second time not launched?
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 6
1 year 8 months ago #133 by syphlor
Your log looks a little different from mine, mine says the runtime was destroyed and then exiting randomly. Anyone know a fix for this?
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 36
1 year 8 months ago #134 by Kumbandit
You're a machine, keep up the great work!!! Wish I could donate, but it's kinda rough in the south-east Europe :( :( :(
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 101
1 year 8 months ago #135 by amoebae

OtisInf wrote: Github is a system where you can store sets of files and each change on each file is logged and you can go back to any previous version of any file. So if you go to the 'commit' page:
github.com/crosire/reshade-shaders/commits/master
You see each set of changes to the files, creating a new version of the set of files (the 'repository'). Now, do you see the buttons on the right with the <> characters? If you click on them, you get the repository at that moment, so all changes made to it after that aren't there. So if you want to go back to the repository state before the change from slider to drag, you have to click to the button on the commit right before it. Which is this one:
github.com/crosire/reshade-shaders/tree/...340a66495ac1ac059c85
If you then click the 'clone or download' button on the right (the green one), you get all shaders with the state of that moment in time.

This could be made easier of course, hence I asked above that there could be added a 'branch' for v3 shaders so you could always go to the state of the v3 shaders without digging through commits.

...

I added the shaders I made/worked on to a separate repository which are compatible with 3.4.1 and v4: github.com/FransBouma/OtisFX but it's not ideal. Fragmentation isn't great, everything should be in one place.


Otis, this is really useful information, thank you so much. I never would have been able to work out how to access the full shader repo from a specific date without this, thank you. I know a lot of people who will be grateful for it.

I hope there's an easier way in the future, but for now at least I know it can be done with a little bit of digging.
The following user(s) said Thank You: OtisInf
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 101
1 year 8 months ago #136 by amoebae

syphlor wrote: Your log looks a little different from mine, mine says the runtime was destroyed and then exiting randomly. Anyone know a fix for this?


This seems similar to what happened to me in No Man's Sky a long time ago (so not with 4.x). It loaded fine and I was using it with no problem, then I got a crash one day and ever since the game will not load with ReShade installed (any version). I never got to the bottom of it.
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 343
1 year 8 months ago - 1 year 8 months ago #137 by OtisInf
BUG: if I have 2 or more techniques in an fx file, disabling one removes all the controls in the fx file from the reshade menu (4.0.2). This is kind of awkward if you use multiple techniques e.g. for debugging as when you have 1 disabled no controls show up to control any uniforms.
The following user(s) said Thank You: crosire
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 6
1 year 8 months ago #138 by syphlor

amoebae wrote:

syphlor wrote: Your log looks a little different from mine, mine says the runtime was destroyed and then exiting randomly. Anyone know a fix for this?


This seems similar to what happened to me in No Man's Sky a long time ago (so not with 4.x). It loaded fine and I was using it with no problem, then I got a crash one day and ever since the game will not load with ReShade installed (any version). I never got to the bottom of it.


So there was never a fix found for this? This is really frustrating, is there any way crosire can look into this?
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 10
1 year 8 months ago #139 by dorez`
And yet someone can tell how to return version 4.01 what and where you need to remove ???
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 404
1 year 8 months ago #140 by JBeckman

dorez` wrote: And yet someone can tell how to return version 4.01 what and where you need to remove ???


Just download it. :)

If 4.0.2 is - reshade.me/downloads/ReShade_Setup_4.0.2.exe
Then 4.0.1 would be reshade.me/downloads/ReShade_Setup_4.0.1.exe

And then just overwrite the .dll from 4.0.2 with 4.0.1 if you want to go back to that.
The following user(s) said Thank You: dorez`
The topic has been locked.